Our history

Blind Veterans UK was founded in 1915 by Sir Arthur Pearson to provide rehabilitation, training and lifelong support to those blinded in the First World War. Since then we have helped over 15,000 ex-Service men and women who have lost their sight.

We value and continue to be inspired by our history and hold our own archives at our headquarters in Harcourt Street, London. For further information please see the links below.

 

Explore

The queen visiting the Brighton centre in 1985 Timeline

Find out more about our history here

Blind veterans at Regent's Park working in the woodwork workshop in 1915 Our collections and archives

What we have and how to get in touch

Blind veterans outside St Dunstan's Lodge News

Find out what's going on in the archives

Talking books Resources

Online sources relating to our history

Nurses and blind veterans on a seesaw Useful links

Useful links to military, family and charity history

The Brighton Centre About us

Find out more about Blind Veterans UK